Aaaaaagh - Trashed me Cantilever

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Uncle Ants, Mar 8, 2005.

1. Uncle Ants

Uncle Ants In Recordeo Speramus

S*$t f%^k bu@#er!!! :cry:

Had my first record player when I was five, so by reckoning I've been playing records for 33 years and in all that time I've never trashed a cart/cantilever until last night. Caught it on my jumper sleeve :rolleyes:

And they've just discontinued the V15 - Damn! And they've stopped the $50 Shure Stylus exchange programme - Double Damn!!

Uncle Ants, Mar 8, 2005
  2. Uncle Ants

ChrisPa

That's probably the greatest comment on the dangers of old age. Stray jumpers can be mischievous things. In the old days when you wore only a t-shirt (or slick leather jacket) there was nothing to accidentally snag while you were juggling an LP, sleeve, drink and the prospective auntie ants all at the same time ;)

ChrisPa, Mar 8, 2005
  3. Uncle Ants

lordsummit moderate mod

What a right royal pain in the a***. The cheapest replacement is nearly £200. Bum, bum and more bum. Have you got accidental damage on your household contents, you might just get it that way

lordsummit, Mar 8, 2005
  4. Uncle Ants

analoguekid Planet Rush

Have you checked with Shure, they may still have the $50 replacement I'd phone to check, other than that claim on insurance, will only cost the excess then.

analoguekid, Mar 8, 2005
  5. Uncle Ants

domfjbrown live & breathe psy-trance

My condolences... Done this twice (a V15 III is less rare than a 50-in-the-world Dynavector 10x4 Gold High (yep, that's the one *I* broke!), so that's one advantage - there's always a silver lining!). Good luck and hope you get some vinyl sounds again soon!

domfjbrown, Mar 8, 2005
  6. Uncle Ants

From now on just in case, I will only be playing records in the nude ;) I was leaning over the back to move the belt and play a 45 . :rolleyes: