Ageing valve fan seeking upgrade

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Freejon, Jan 4, 2006.

1. Freejon

Freejon

Hi all,

I have been using valve power-amplification for the last 20 years, and I have been in a happy rut, first with an original Radford STA25, then for the last decade with the modernised version - the "Renaissance" which is better-looking, self-biassing and I believe a little more powerful. I really enjoy it and hesitate to change, but.....

It's in for minor repair at the moment, and listening to the temporary (old) Sansui substitute I noticed that although relatively "dead", it has slightly better mid-range detail. It has made me wonder about possible alternatives. I don't have money to throw at the question, so would still be probably looking at S/H. Thought about a Beard P100 that is on e-bay.

But also thinking about these new chinese options - noted the cautionary tales about AVC, but wondering about Icon and also about Prolog 4. Is there anyone who could suggest what might be out there that would give me an improvement, or worth trying at least? Or convince me to stay put even?

And does anybody have any idea what a Radford Renaissance is worth? This would largely determine my budget for the change. I believe most of the originals went to the Japanese market. It's been very well cared for. Maybe I will have to curb my impulses, but you know what it's like when the "itch" gets you!

Jon

Freejon, Jan 4, 2006
  2. Freejon

bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

I wouldn't. The more powerful Beards are prone to causing problems.

I had a Beard P35 that was good enough, but unless you get it for under £250ish I'd look at something else personally.... like a second hand WAD kit or an imported amp..

bottleneck, Jan 4, 2006
  3. Freejon

SteveC PrimaLuna is not cheese

Are you an ageing fan or do you like ageing valves? It's not clear ;)

SteveC, Jan 5, 2006
  4. Freejon

T-bone Sanchez