Amplifier Advice Sought - Wilson Benesch Curves

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Woodnut, Sep 29, 2008.

1. Woodnut

Woodnut

Hello,

Any advice on the following would be great:

Am planning on buying some second hand Wilson Benesch Curves (87db, 6ohms nominal 4ohms minimum) and would like to pair with tube amplification or possibly a hybrid combination.

My budget for amplification is lower than the cost of the speakers. I have around £1,700 and am looking to buy second hand / ex-dem.

I never listen at loud volumes and listen to alot of acoustic music with some rock.
    I am looking to buy a fairly cheap CD transport for use with a chord DAC 64 (When I have found one 2nd hand).

I have heard the curves with audionet and was really impressed. I have no experience with tubes and it is a long time since I heard a valve based amplifier but I remember being struck by the sound and how "real" and 3 dimensional it was.

I would like to try a passive pre amp if it would be compatible with my proposed setup options and have been looking at the following relatively cheap but supposed great performers:

- promitheus TVC (Supposedly comparable and similar in operation to the Music First passive pre?)

- Placette Remote Control

These are some of the power amplifiers that I have seen second hand that are within budget and appear to have had plenty of good comments by folk on forums:

Conrad-Johnson premier 11a - 70W p/c

Audio Research VS55 - 55W p/c (Is this too little power?)

Audio Research VS110 (Right on the edge of my budget)

Graaf 50/50 - 50W p/c

Rogue Audio ST90 - 90W p/c

Rogue Audio M-120 - 120W p/c (Have heard they sound good but some folk say unreliable?)

Vincent T100 - Hybrid mono blocks 100 W p/c