Amplifiers to partner Tannoy Monitor Gold 15s

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by hifipete, Jul 21, 2011.

1. hifipete

hifipete

These are fine sounding speakers and deserve a good quality amp so looking for recommendation of the same vintage to partner the Tannoys. What amps do other fellow vintage Tannoyists use?

I fancy trying valves with them and maybe even a vintage solid state if they are a good match for the speakers so won't rule out SS at this stage.

Vintage electronics has great sound but are hard to repair and would certainly need servicing and replacement of components. My main concern is ‘spotting' good and bad equipment which is out of my league as I have very little audio electronic knowledge.

The obvious choice is Leak/Quad/Sugden/Radford etc. But some of these ‘iconic' amps may be beyond my modest budget of £800. However if a good quality amp matches the speakers leading to system synergy then I will consider increasing the budget to achieve improved musical performance. The quality of the music is more important to me than ‘loud' music.

Looking forward to any suggestions:)

hifipete, Jul 21, 2011
  2. hifipete

Tenson Moderator

Do you want something that matches visually? Amp circuits haven't changed a lot over the years, and if anything only got better, so something from the Tannoys era will internally be much the same as a 10 year old amp that could well be less in need of servicing.

Edit: Actually the Golds are older than I thought, starting in '55. So I'd have to say modern solid state amps are better than those from the Tannoy Gold period.

Tenson, Jul 21, 2011
  3. hifipete

RobHolt Moderator

For vintage you could try:

Rogers A75/2 or A100 (SS)

Quad 33/303 (SS)

Leak Stereo 20 power amp with a passive pre. (V)

Radford STA25 with passive pre. (V)

All but the Radford would come in well under budget leaving some cash for a service.

RobHolt, Jul 21, 2011
  4. hifipete

Dev Moderator