Another Turntable Question

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by clintonf, Nov 10, 2004.

1. clintonf

clintonf

Hi People, i've been watching the recent threads about Turntables (very interesting and helpful).

I was wondering whether it would be safe for a complete novice such as me to fit their own cartridge?

The cartridge is a replacement for the one that was broken last week and I CANNOT afford to replace this one, if I break it.

If not, can anyone recommend in the West Midlands that could fit the cartridge to the turntable?

I am eager to get my music back, so I would greatly appreciate any advice that you could offer?

Thanks

Clint

clintonf, Nov 10, 2004
  2. clintonf

amazingtrade Mad Madchestoh fan

I have fitted a cartridge on my old second hand turntable however I would never attempt this on my Project Debut because the cables are very thin and it they seem very easily to snap.

I guess it depends how good you are with your hands.

amazingtrade, Nov 10, 2004
  3. clintonf

clintonf

Thanks for that. How are you? I hope you're well?

I am quite clumsy so i'll look for a dealer. However, in the West Midlands they appear to be far and few between.

Take care.

Clint

clintonf, Nov 10, 2004
  4. clintonf

Sid and Coke

Hi Clintonf,

Nobody was born with the knowledge of how to fit a phono cartridge and so in that respect everybody who is an 'expert' now was a novice at some time.
    There is an absolute mountain of advice available to assist you on the www too. Obviously places such as ZG, PFM & HFC discusssion forums instantly spring to mind, but others such as Vinyl asylum and Turntablebasics.com are worth a read too. Once you have done it once (successfully ;) ), you will wonder what all the fuss is about !
    There is a guy who posts and trades over on PFM called Mick Seymour, he sells all of the necessary equipment that will enable to fit your own cartridge.