B&w 803d

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Rocker, Apr 8, 2008.

1. Rocker

Rocker

Anyone heard the B&W 803Ds in action? I have an opportunity to try them in my system but I fear the room is too small for them. If they work fairly close to the wall [away from the corners], they may be fine. I have an Opus 21 CD player, two Classe CAM350 monoblocks, Heimdall speaker cables & balanced i/cs, Dalkey Audio Cables silver mains cables & my speakers are Ruark Crusader 2. The speakers are around [counts on fingers] 15 years on the go and they sound less dynamic than newer speakers but this is my first attempt to see if there is a better speaker than the Crusaders. I thought about trying a pair of Hyperion HPS 938 but my dealer said they are more suited to valves amps. I like valve amps but I don't want to go down that route this time as I am trying to reduce the number of boxes and the size of the rack in my music room. I will post my findings here but if anyone has any contribution/suggestion to make - feel free to do so.

Rocker, Apr 8, 2008
  2. Rocker

Dynamic Turtle The Bydo Destroyer

Hi Rocker and welcome to ZG,