blank minidisc's

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by rob, Oct 5, 2004.

1. rob

rob SCHMOOOOKIN

anyone know of a good sourse for cheap blank md's?

cheers,

Rob.

rob, Oct 5, 2004
  2. rob

Saab

I get mine from Ebay

Saab, Oct 5, 2004
  3. rob

Rory satisfied

only ones i don't recommend are the TDK RXG74s btw. tend to skip after 3rd or 4th re-usage.

if you want bling, get the Sony ES range :D

Rory, Oct 5, 2004
  4. rob

rob SCHMOOOOKIN

im new to md's , are they like cdr's where you can get recordable ones and re recordable?
    also im using a portable recorder and was wondering would it be worth my while buying a stand alone unit?
    so many questions , if i was to look for a stand alone unit it would only have to be for play back only as my portable can record so what do you guys recon?
    cheers,
    Rob.

rob, Oct 5, 2004
  5. rob

wflem007

My last lot were 20 TDK80's for £20 from Maplins.

I usally get mine from Richers but they were out of stock. Can't get enough of them in - so much for the so called decline in MD.............

wflem007, Oct 5, 2004
  6. rob

wflem007

Rob

I find MD brilliant for my compilations - much easier and neater to use/edit than plain cassette.

I did look at CD-R at the time but considered it a pain in the ass if I got it wrong so I went MD. Never looked back.

If you record properly on it you will find it very hard to tell the difference between it and CD (I can't reliably anyway)

Go for a full size machine, and try for Sony. A 940 would be perfect and you can pick these up very reasonably. I use one, and also the big daddy, a 555ES. I had a small Sharp portable as well but it was too much hassle to use so I didn't perservere with it.

Truth be told, the 940 doesn't give that much away to the 555.

The discs themselves are very dinky - you buy them as blanks and then you record to them via annalogue or digital cable.

Try these links for further info

http://www.minidisct.com/forum/index.php?s=