cartridge suggestions please

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by dudywoxer, Jul 1, 2010.

1. dudywoxer

dudywoxer Regaholic

Yes OK, I understand that everything is subjective but getting to hear a choice of carts is not what you could call easy.

I have just changed my deck from a P25 to a P9 and would like suggestions for suitable moderate (?5-600) priced carts to use with it.

It will have to work either with the MM stage built into a Cursa Pre amp, or the Rega phono MC stage, as I will not be able to replace the stage and cart at the same time. I will be using a DL110 in the short term.

I would prefer something Neutral, or warmer sounding, (so not a OC9 or Dorian then)
    ________
    MARIJUANA BUBBLER

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 18, 2011
    dudywoxer, Jul 1, 2010
  2. dudywoxer

RobHolt Moderator

Well I just so happen to have a P9 :)

I've been using an AT33PTG for a couple of years and that makes a good combo - happy to provide you with some links to around 30 high quality needledrops if you wnat to listen.

The only problem is that the 33PTG is officially discontinued but you might still finds stocks. Not much out there touches it for around £300.
    There is a special version of PTG at around £500 but I've never heard it.

I also wouldn't recommend a Lyra on a P9 - been there with an Argo and the combination is too dry and thin.

I can suggest others but none are particularly warm in balance.
    For example, the DV17/3 is excellent and very faithful to the source, not bright but the balance is similar to a good CD player or digital source.

RobHolt, Jul 1, 2010
  3. dudywoxer

dudywoxer Regaholic

dudywoxer, Jul 1, 2010
  4. dudywoxer

bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

Hi Dudywoxer.

I have been thinking about this a little of late.

Starting over I would take a complete gamble. I'd buy a damaged cartridge (that was once very expensive) - hopefully one with just a worn down diamond..