Do server's belong in high end hifi?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by KUB3, Aug 2, 2006.

1. KUB3

KUB3 ciao

I might be tempted by a server, if one would meet these criteria...

1. Same quality as a cd transport (into my seperate dac)
    2. Absolutely silent. No feint fan hum!
    3. One box solution without a pc attached to start up
    4. Cost under £1000 - it's only a hard drive in a case! No Chord nonse required.

Who, where, what? Total newbie here... Thanks.

KUB3, Aug 2, 2006
  2. KUB3

Dev Moderator

Dev, Aug 2, 2006
  3. KUB3

Tenson Moderator

Hmm so the squeezebox can play directly from a mapped network drive? That is a very nice solution indeed Dev! Get a few of those drives and keep everything uncompressed. Squeezebox right to the DAC.

If you want to go for a full media PC, you can still get it silent, but it may well cost more than £1k. I use one of these http://www.zalman.co.kr/eng/product/view.asp?idx=63 and one of these http://www.overclockercafe.com/Reviews/other_misc/Tt_Fanless_PSU/index.html But that comes to about £300-400 in cooling already.

Tenson, Aug 2, 2006
  4. KUB3

Dev Moderator

Dev, Aug 2, 2006
  5. KUB3

KUB3 ciao

The kit looks impressive but a little bulky and messy. I presume this will be the downside.

Is real hifi possible?

KUB3, Aug 2, 2006
  6. KUB3

Tenson Moderator

Dev's solution is hardly messy :) One drive and a squeezebox!

Tenson, Aug 2, 2006
  7. KUB3

KUB3 ciao

I meant your small power station! A blind mans setup :D

KUB3, Aug 2, 2006
  8. KUB3

andrew1810

Have a look at the Hifidelio for a one-box solution

Otherwise a NAS/silent server and Squeezebox

or a silent computer

Review of hifidelio, squeezebox etc. here: www.audiofi.co.uk/reviews

andrew1810, Aug 3, 2006
  9. KUB3

julian2002 Muper Soderator