Fuji FinePix S7000

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by mutant, Feb 16, 2004.

1. mutant

mutant

I know its not hifi/av related, but i know some of you are into photography so thought i'd post it here. Have any of you got any experience with this camera? I was looking to buy one in the next few months, as it has dropped dramatically in price (you can get them new for £350 now, they were £550 just before christmas). I am only an amateur photographer, although i will be using it a lot when i go back to college in september, but buying it mainly from an amateur photographers p-o-v. So, is it any good??

mutant, Feb 16, 2004
  2. mutant

michaelab desafinado

Don't know that specific camera but for excellent reviews and info check out:

www.dpreview.com

..also has some pretty good forums.

Michael.

michaelab, Feb 17, 2004
  3. mutant

MO! MOnkey`ead!

Looking on the spec's shown on that site which Mike posted ( DIRECT LINK ) it say's the max shutter speed is 1/15 of a second. This seems quite limited to me. And so does the minimum apperture size of f8.

I don't use digital myself, but my girlfriend has a (non SLR) fuji finepix which gives great point & shoot results, and has enough options to get good results in many situations.

Sounds like a well reviewed camera, (I may have some other reviews in magazines somewhere - i'll have a look), and if it's going for half price then can't really go wrong! My girlfriend got hers off ebay for a great deal cheaper than RRP.

MO!, Feb 17, 2004
  4. mutant

technobear Ursine Audiophile

No it doesn't! It says the max is 1/10000 and the min is 1/15.

1/10000 is plenty fast enough.
    1/15 is a little limiting for night time shots without flash though.

As for f8, I'm not sure they have it straight. Best to check the Fujifilm website as this may be the maximum aperture fully zoomed in, f2.8 being the maximum when fully zoomed out.