Garrard 301

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by white-socks, Aug 25, 2009.

1. white-socks

white-socks

Just out of curiosity, has anyone compared a Garrard 301, or 401 to a good set up Roksan Xerxes?

If so, man I will love to hear your opinions over the two decks:D

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2009
    white-socks, Aug 25, 2009
  2. white-socks

sammyo

With the major proviso that I am pretty new to hi-fi, this is precisely what I have just been doing for the last few weeks. I heard an original model Xerxes (a mid to late-1990s model) in very good condition set up by a very reputable dealer through an excellent system. I thought it was terrific and particularly exciting in the mid-range. Very realistic and neutral sounding. But in the end I felt that the female vocals lacked the humanity and airiness that other turntables presented. This left me with a nagging doubt about the turntable and I feared I would never be happy with it, much as I enjoyed listening to it.

I have ended up with a 401. I am happy with it in every way. I suspect that if I heard it and the Xerxes side by side then the Xerxes would sound better in some ways but I'm not sure I can think of any.

In my opinion, my test records all sound at least as good on the 401 as on the Xerxes. The possible exception is Copland's Appelachian Spring which really did sound thrilling on the Xerxes. My test records were all middling in terms of recording quality and vinyl condition and include the Copland, a copy of Handel's Water Music and Emma Kirkby singing Purcell. I tested other records on everything I heard as well but those three were consistent to every test. I think if you search my posts you will see some of the comments I had on the Xerxes.