Goggle Box question, sorry!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by leonard smalls, Aug 11, 2004.

1. leonard smalls

leonard smalls GufmeisterGeneral

Now that I've narrowed my pre-amp choice down to the Nagra, Spectral, Plinius and Pass Labs offerings (plus an outside chance for the Burmester) I've decided that I need to introduce an RF source to the music room to make sure that there's at least some interferance..
    So I'd thought to get a DVD player (or recorder), if there's one with tuner even better, plus a tv projector...
    Now the last time I played with projectors they were about the size of a portable TV, made by Barco or Sony and cost £5k plus.
    Question is, which DVD and projector is/are the best value? I'm not after the very best - after all it'll only have DVD piccys or at best analogue broadcast Tv (and don't start saying how good dvd is - I was a telecine operator for a while!), but the projector will have to be ceiling mounted.
    Also, what about screens? It only needs to be a max of 12ftx9ft to fit nicely between my speakers, and then roll up neatly when not in use..
    Or should I just read a good book? :MILD:

leonard smalls, Aug 11, 2004
  2. leonard smalls

JackOTrades

Leonard,

I like the idea of a good book... ;)

In regards to AV stuff, I am no expert at all, but you will be able to find a lot of the info you're after on avforums (www.avforums.com). I remember reading threads on fairly good quality projectors for around 1200 to 1500 pounds... but it depends on what you're after.