Hi

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Matt@Nearfield, Sep 1, 2004.

1. Matt@Nearfield

Matt@Nearfield

good evening gentlemen.. and ladies.

A short note to say hi, a nice looking forum you guys have worked up here.

I am an in house hifi newbie, and am looking at building a simple system around some active monitors (Dyne BM6A or the ATCs - bank manager dependent), and would love some pointers on cd/preamp integrated's to shortlist for demo.

So far I have the oh-so-obvious Quad 99 CDP, some of the older Resolution Audio bits, but what else is there. I'm happy (would prefer actually) to have 2nd hand, budget of around £1k.

Please help lads, in the car audio world I'm fairly usefull (long standing hobby of 12 years), but completely ignorant of home audio.

N.B. When I say car audio please don't catagorise me as a Max Flower bass head hooligan, the current system, if you are interested, is a high quality phillips transport, Type K BB Dac, BB volume ic (PGA2310)), some extremely nice solid state amps, custom horn loaded compression drivers, per Skaaning custom made C-Quence Flex midbass units) blah de blah :)

Please help lads :)

Matt@Nearfield, Sep 1, 2004
  2. Matt@Nearfield

Tenson Moderator

I find the Ming Da MC-7R valve pre-amp works extremely well with my active PMC AML1's. It would probably go well with the active Dyns or ATC's. You can take a look at www.cattylink.com go to the English products menu etc..

Ming Da are the same make as 'Icon Audio' but have the real make printed on the lable ;)

Tenson, Sep 2, 2004
  3. Matt@Nearfield

analoguekid Planet Rush

You sounds like WM, a few years ago. :D

High Matt, ATC pre's are pretty good with their active speakers (the smaller ones) You might like to also consider one of the Shanling CDp's can't remeber which one, has built in volume and choice between solid state and valve output. You could add a better pre ass funds permit.

analoguekid, Sep 2, 2004
  4. Matt@Nearfield

Tenson Moderator