How do you know if your cambelt has snapped?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by la toilette, Jan 12, 2006.

1. la toilette

la toilette Downright stupid

My car just conked out about 40 yards from home, just got a slight hesitation then a clunk....

I've never had a timing belt go before and wouldn't know what to expect, but this is a diesel engine and once it's started it normally just chugs on with no probs - so wondered if something fatal had happened. I vaguely remember hearing/reading that if the timing belt has snapped, the worst thing you can do is to try turning over the engine...hence I haven't tried to start it again.

Any help much appreciated. :confused:

la toilette, Jan 12, 2006
  2. la toilette

amazingtrade Mad Madchestoh fan

I am no expert here so ignore this but I assume you have checked to make sure there are no visible signs of a snapped belt? There should be a few pulleys at side of the engine block if there is no belt there you have your answer. A lot of cars have a seperate alternator belt though so you need to be sure which is which.

I think you have done the right thing by not tryng to start it. I know at least on my dads car you can clearly see the cam and alternator belts and its obvious which is which.

amazingtrade, Jan 12, 2006
  3. la toilette

michaelab desafinado

What's the make and model of car? Many cars have timing chains instead of belts and these are harder to inspect visually as they're usually inside the engine casing.

michaelab, Jan 12, 2006
  4. la toilette

Do modern cars still use chains? I thought most modern ones use belts now because they are cheaper and less noisy. I know my mates car is chain driven and yep that is inside the engine, you can't see it.

5. la toilette

michaelab desafinado

My BMW M3 engine uses a timing chain, as does the current M3 and many other high performance engines:

When my M3 engine was having some work done, the timing chain very visible:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Michael.