jst bought a cheap multimeter... tonearm wire probs.

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by SMEagol, Nov 29, 2008.

1. SMEagol

SMEagol Because we wants it...

I've disconnected the cartridge tags as I'm getting no signal in the left channel or only intermittent. At the other end of the arm tube is a small trailing connector block with brass pins as the armtubes on the Hadcock are swappable.

Putting the multimeter terminal probes at the ends of each wire in turn I get a reading from the red, white and green, but nothing from the black. I know the carts fine, so does that mean the arm tubes cooked?

I'm not that technical!

SMEagol, Nov 29, 2008
  2. SMEagol

Andy 831

Chris I had exactly the same problem with my Hadcock.

If you "Break into" the red plug, you will probably find one of the arm wires have come detached.

Hadcock wanted £20 plus the cost of getting to them and back to fix it

Andy 831, Nov 29, 2008
  3. SMEagol

Hi Andy

Thats a partial relief! Did you manage to fix yours, are they soldered in or just squished?

Thanks! Chris

SMEagol, Nov 29, 2008
  4. SMEagol

Andy 831

Chris......all soldered. :(

I discovered I had a problem when I put your old Sumiko Blue Point Evo 3 in it, Which had been working fine in my SME 3012, but suddenly one channel was down in the Hadcock.

I actually repaired it myself, just because I did not want the hassle of posting the arm back to Hadcock.

Use you multimeter to check continuity from the fixed block to the phono plugs on the trailing arm lead, and if you have continuity there then suspect the free red plug.

I ended up resoldering all the connections as they were all "coming free"

Incidentally Chris I am also not technical in the electronics field, but still managed this repair adequately, so have a go and keep us posted.