Mains

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by johnhunt, Sep 15, 2005.

1. johnhunt

johnhunt recidivist

looks like i'm finally getting around to fitting the fused spur back to the D.board for my stereo

current plan is a to use a single run of 6mm twin and earth to a decent 2/3 gang wall socket/cooker box. It'll have to be to terminate 6mm cable! ( this is crazy hifi nonsense i'm sure :)

Any advice/experience out there i should learn from.

john

johnhunt, Sep 15, 2005
  2. johnhunt

technobear Ursine Audiophile

Electricity hurts. Never ever be tempted to work on a live circuit.

Dunno really. Is there anything you can spray the connections with so that they don't oxidise?

If it's going below floorboards, make sure it's in a conduit so that it's creature-proof.

There may be more. I'm not an electrician :)

technobear, Sep 15, 2005
  3. johnhunt

penance Arrogant Cock

Na, use to work live all the time ;)

DeOxit/Pro Gold or simmilar

Not neccessary, conduit is very rarely used in domestic instalations. It is enough to clip the bare T&E to joists etc.

You may be able to terminate the incoming 6mm cable to a junction box and take 2 more from there, tho it would be a squeeze.
    I think you should be able to terminate a 6mm cable to a decent socket with some carfull twiddleing. Just dont be temtped to start cutting some of the strands off to make it fit.

Not sure what use a cooker outlet would be??

penance, Sep 15, 2005
  4. johnhunt

themadhippy seen it done it smokin it

forget the T+E use 4mm swa into MK metal clad sockets,dont bother with 3 gang sockets,there limited to 13A,and as has already been mentioned if in doubt dont.

themadhippy, Sep 15, 2005
  5. johnhunt

3DSonics away working hard on "it"

Hi,