MF A5 CDP - Upgrade

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by falconer, Aug 17, 2006.

1. falconer

falconer

Hi.
    I am a newbie to this forum,and I am considering upgrading my CDP,which I think is fantastic,but I think maybe having a clock 4 and NCPS fitted would be money well spent or not.

I would be grateful if any members can give me any first hand experience of this upgrade,and to know if it would be worthwhile.

falconer, Aug 17, 2006
  2. falconer

70sman

don't touch it, you will ruin the resale value, regular oscillators are very stable indeed, these 3rd party mods. have just been gone over by people trying to make money any which way they can, scraping the barrel. They went over various parts with a fine tooth comb seeing which parts could be easily altered.

Digital leads and dig section mods. are a complete waste of money too, its just 0s and 1s, anyone who tells you otherwise is just trying to make cash out of desperate people who want to believe it.

If it really worked, do you not think all the manufacturers would be doing it? Do you think these small 3rd party companies know better than marantz, or pioneer, or sony?

The price of a replacement chip for that is pennies.

spend the cash on cd's, or some very good cheap wire.

audiocom have done mods to the marantzs, and said they have done a cheaper one as the expensive one was such a success, they haven't actually sold a single one.

In that kind of industry, you don't bring out something cheaper if an expensive one is a success, its an acknowledgment of defeat.

70sman, Aug 18, 2006
  3. falconer

LinearMan

Don't do it. You'll never get your money back and may even lower the resale price of your A5.