MP3 recording level?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by LinearMan, Aug 14, 2006.

1. LinearMan

LinearMan

I've recently got a new car and it has an MP3 compatible CD player, amongst many other toys:)

I'm a complete novice at MP3, as whenever I've heard it in the past (through home hi-fi systems) it sounded dire. However, I did try it out and it's more than adequate for listening to in a car. And I just love being able to have loads and loads of albums all on one disc, complete with album/track name, etc.!

However, I've noticed that the playback level on MP3 is noticeably lower than on radio or CD ~ which is a bit of a pain as I have to advance the volume control and then get blasted by the RDS traffic announcements (even with the announcement volume set at its minimum level). I've only been using Windows Media Player to create the MP3 files ~ is there software that allows adjustment of the recording level, or am I just being silly and demonstrating some basic misunderstanding of MP3?

Thanks.

LinearMan, Aug 14, 2006
  2. LinearMan

robert_cyrus

robert_cyrus, Aug 14, 2006
  3. LinearMan

Tenson Moderator

Nearly everything ripped from a modern CD will be normalised already so you are probably just going to have to live with it.

Tenson, Aug 14, 2006
  4. LinearMan

keith

Folks: can't totally go along with this 'normalising' idea...

Whilst a lot of top-20 'pop' music has limited dynamic range (and so 'normalising' is reasonable), much music recorded, either commercially or at home, varies enormously in dynamic 'span'. So, if e.g. you have a quiet piano piece followed by a loud orchestral piece the act of 'normalising' will create a grossly imbalanced result from track to track. Even with un- hi-fi mp3 files this can be very intrusive.

There are 1-2 progs that attempt to 'average' the pieces. They do in practice have limitations; nothing replaces a good lug-hole;) .

keep the phase
    keith

keith, Aug 14, 2006
  5. LinearMan

Tenson Moderator