Nad...

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by mr cat, Nov 25, 2003.

1. mr cat

mr cat Member of the month

As some of you may know, I'm after a stereo amp as my yammy can't quite cut it musically…
    My obvious options seems to be that I would have both amps together and either have the nad (c320 cbee, c350, or some other amp ) driving the main speakers, or use a speaker switch to alternate between the amps (depending on if I want to listen to music, or watch a dvd)…I checked the Nad website, found some info, but I decided to e-mail them for some advice, I basically asked what my options would be, this was there response -

Dear xxx,

I have no Knowledge of the connection capability of the Yamaha RX-V620RDS, so cannot comment on how or whether, it is possible to use an alternative amplifier for the front channels, an integrated amplifier such as the C320BEE or C350 would not normally be used for this, but more normally a power amplifier would be used, while the NAD integrated amplifiers do have the option of using them as either a power amplifier, or just pre-amplifier by removing the "U" links it would be rather a waste of the amplifiers abilities, and there is no way to connect in the manner that you describe for two amplifiers to drive the speakers by connecting the amplifiers together this would damage or destroy probably both amplifiers, and also the subwoofer needs to be feed from the LFE output for correct surround sound effects. It is possible to get high grade speaker switch boxes (at a cost of about £50 up for a two way) or high quality switch box for switching between amplifiers to the speakers concerned, but as the spacing and positioning for speakers is generally different for best stereo and best surround is different it is seldom a good solution.