Need urgent help in reterminating a VDH d102 mkiii cable

Discussion in 'DIY Discussion' started by eitook, Apr 1, 2007.

1. eitook

eitook Noob

Greetings zerogainers, your invaluable insight is most appreciated in these times of desperate needs!

I recently bought a pair of used cables, and i realised there was a problem of intermittance with one of the cables (the one labelled in blue); so I unscrewed the factory terminated rca plugs, and to my horror the solder has broken off at the source end of the cable.

I tried resoldering the plug, and this initially seemed to work but eventually the solder gave way againl (i'm a DIY noob you see).

What do you suggest I do? I understand that the shield braid should be grounded together with one of the core cables only at the source end, and have tried this, but I faced difficulty in getting the braids to fit into the plug. I have given up hope on this, do you know where I can get this professionally reterminated? Any specific dealers which I could turn to?

Many thanks for helping a defeated soul,
    Nick

eitook, Apr 1, 2007
  2. eitook

spev

easiest thing to do may be to find your local tv/electrical repair shop and ask if they'll resolder it for you - I got a chap local to me to make up a pair of cables once and he did it free of charge (though I did feel obliged to buy a scart lead off him...)

spev, Apr 1, 2007
  3. eitook

zanash

pm I'll do them for you ...free [unless I need to use any materials] but even so it should be just a couple of moments work .....famous last words !

zanash, Apr 2, 2007
  4. eitook

eitook Noob

zanash,

Your act of generosity is unparalleled!! Many thanks for replying the PM, pls let me know how I can compensate

Regards,
    Nick

eitook, Apr 3, 2007
  5. eitook

zanash

said cable has now arrived .......

in factory form the screen is seen at both ends by the ground return....how odd as there web site states its a pseudo balanced....