New digital front end

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by BerylliumDust, Oct 12, 2004.

1. BerylliumDust

BerylliumDust WATCH OUT!!!

Hello,

My two choices are:

1) Sim Moon Eclipse. I've always liked Sim Moon sound, although I have no experience with the Eclipse, and probably it's a little beyond my financial reach. But a true multibit machine nonetheless;

2) CEC TL51x (new entry level transport)/DX71 combo. No experience with this combo either but it matches my price constraints. One problem though, I'm very reluctant about delta-sigma/bitstream converters.

All I know is that for a bitstream decoder to be able to match the
    amplitude time-related resolution (and that's what music is all about) of say
    a good multibit red-book CD system, you would need a fs equal to 2^16 * 44.1kHz = 2.89GHz. No way you can have it with modern technology. All delta-sigma implementations that I know of sound lifeless to me compared with their multibit counterparts. They are by nature slew-rate limited, and although they do not have an absolute amplitude limit, the permissible signal amplitude falls at 6dB per octave. In order to have equal resolution you'll need to double the sample rate for every extra bit in the multibit code. Sure they measure better, have greater low-level resolution and detail but not the same dynamic contrasts or... MUSIC, if you will.

How do they compare?

BerylliumDust, Oct 12, 2004
  2. BerylliumDust

merlin

Hi and welcome to the forum,

As a former Eclipse owner, I can certainly vouch for it's quality. I have not heard a better all rounder and it has the bonus of a decent PS meaning that it doesn't really need any tweaking to sound superb. Closer to the old classic multibit sound of the CD7 and the like than many alternatives. It can be had for under £3K by carefully purchasing used fform the States if that interests you.