new to hifi upgrade advice

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by sanchezxxx, Apr 12, 2007.

1. sanchezxxx

sanchezxxx

Hi,

Unfortuanately I bought all my new hifi components before I found this excellent forum and now feel it is time to upgrade already. My current system is:
    Musical Fidelity X-A1 amp
    Marantz cd6000 KI signature cd player
    Blueroom minipod speakers

While it doesn't sound bad I'm sure I could achieve much better but don't know what the most cost effective upgrade would be. On GSRAIs advice I have swapped the QED silver anniversary xt(damn those what hi fi guys) sp cable for vanne damme which took away a lot of brightness.

I was thinking of poss using a musical fidelity x10d valve buffer or beresford dac to improve the quality of signal going to the amp but am not sure. I also thought a speaker upgrade may be better, I bought the bluerooms because of looks and T3 review but think they may lack a little bass. Basically I am new to proper hifi and any advice regarding the most effective upgrade from the pros would be much appreciated.

sanchezxxx, Apr 12, 2007
  2. sanchezxxx

bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

Hi Mate

I think a lot will depend on how much money you can afford to throw at it.

Of the components listed, I'd probably keep the CD player longest in an upgrade.

How big is your room too?

Can't really say more without those 2 bits of info, it will help others too..

All the best, and welcome to ZG

bottleneck, Apr 12, 2007
  3. sanchezxxx

zanash

With no idea of budget ...its difficult to say ....certainly the cdp and amp are the stronger components ....

where are you and what size room do you have ?

zanash, Apr 12, 2007
  4. sanchezxxx

mr cat Member of the month

yeah, first upgrade would be the speakers imo...

mr cat, Apr 12, 2007
  5. sanchezxxx

SMEagol Because we wants it...