Newbie with questions...

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Heavymental, Dec 10, 2003.

1. Heavymental

Heavymental

Hello folks,
    I've just made the voyage over from HFC and noticed your all over here too! so hello one and all.
    I've got a couple of questions running over there that aren't drawing too many opinions so I thought i'd pester you lot for some ideas. before I start....i'm new to all this and still getting to grips with concepts. anyway....
    I'm all set on buying myself a PM7200 after crimbo and while i'm hanging around reading these forums i've developed a couple of concerns.
    Firstly....I don't think i'm going to be using the 'listen to what your recording' feature on this amp at all, will the KI dispense with this as i'm aware less circuitry/simplicity is good?
    Secondly....its occured to me that i'm listening to alot of vinyl at the moment. I'm lead to believe this amp is quite revealing (not got a chance to demo it yet as i'm stuck in deepest darkest west wales). Is this going to be a problem as i don't want to be made aware of every mark on my charity shop vinyl. Is this a problem? whats the solution?
    Also...when I get around to demoing this beast, any suggestions on what speakers to try that i can pick up for less that 200 big ones?
    And finally....i've going for this amp mainly based on the critical acclaim its attracted....but am open to suggestions for something sweet for similar cash.
    Thanks is advance for your expert advice.
    HM
    p.s the name is a hiphop album i'm partial too...i'm not really a metalhed so bear in mind i'm listening to anything from Elton John :rolleyes: to Mr Scruff and plenty in between.

Heavymental, Dec 10, 2003
  2. Heavymental

amazingtrade Mad Madchestoh fan

I've got the PM6010OSE. I find the phono stage on that to be very revealing compared to others. However it does a good job of hiding scratches etc but not as well as other preamps I have heared.