Power Amp Upgrade

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by lukecon, Aug 6, 2005.

1. lukecon

lukecon

:confused: Hi new member.Looking to upgrade elderly Rotel power amp.Preamp is Linsley Hood Hart Electronics passive ,QED Silver Anniversaryspeaker cable,Ixos interconnects, Lima Xavierfloorstanders.+much modifiedCD63.Rather Bright room.Seen a pair of Meridian 605s . Reviews indicate warm but detailed sound. Worth a punt? Any other views ?Any for sale?Thanks Ian

lukecon, Aug 6, 2005
  2. lukecon

Mr Perceptive

I use Meridian Power Amps (557s) with Shahinian Arcs (fr) and Quad 22L's (rr), however I have no experience and little knowledge of the rest of your kit. They are very good and seem to have effortless reserves of power.

The 605 is though already quite old, and although the top of the range at the time, you might want to consider an amp from the newer 500 series as if it didn't work out it would be a lot easier to sell on.

Mr Perceptive

Mr Perceptive, Aug 7, 2005
  3. lukecon

zanash

You could look at the audiolab 8000p ....just like the one I picked up [which is for sale]

or go off the wall and use one of the sonic T-amps or there clones....they now do kits that will provide plus 100 watts and keep the fabulous sound these things make.

zanash, Aug 7, 2005
  4. lukecon

lukecon

Hi Zanash, thanks for your reply,been away. How much for your 8000P,What cond. ect.

lukecon, Aug 10, 2005
  5. lukecon

bottleneck talks a load of rubbish

Here is a nice power amp at the emporium

TALK ELECTRONICS HURRICANE 2 power amp 600 250

I dont know what your budget is though

bottleneck, Aug 10, 2005
  6. lukecon

Dynamic Turtle The Bydo Destroyer

Given that your pre-amp is passive, you have to take more care than ususal in selecting a replacement power amp. The following is a post from SCIDB regarding matching the requirements of passive pre. I'd also research whole issue more carefully before going ahead with a purchase: