Preamp info required

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Colin2040, Aug 27, 2008.

1. Colin2040

Colin2040

I am currently putting together a second or alternative system,I want an active preamp requirements are detailed clean sound with remote a good phono stage would be a bonus.Two are three are up for audition all second hand,Bryston BP25, Rotel Michi, and Clasee. Can anyone tell me about the Rotel I can find no info about them and , no reviews etc.Build looks fab and it was a cost no object sort of amp. So any help appreciated or other suggestion s, oh and its going with a Lyngdorf.

Colin2040, Aug 27, 2008
  2. Colin2040

Corruption

I don't know much about the Rotel Michi, but Midland Audio Exchange has one on offer at the moment for not a lot, might be worth the investment just to see what it's like?

Corruption, Aug 27, 2008
  3. Colin2040

Colin2040

They come up quite often but I have no experience of them but also need suggestions for opossible others I should add to my list.

Colin2040, Aug 27, 2008
  4. Colin2040

D Louth 77

Hi Colin2040

The Rotel Michi ,in its day about 15 years ago was a stunning bit of kit . I loved the red wood ends and the fabulous look of the metal work and the feel of the controls . However it is a very old design and you should try to hear before you buy . The michi phono stage was excellent ,even by todays standards and if i was offered one at the right money i would buy one with out thinking much about it , but the pre . I would want to hear it again to be able to rank it against more modern designs . depends on how much it is going for and what condition its in .

Imho ,if i remember correctly ,the michi has a more musical sound than the more analytical approach of the Classe and Bryston . But you may prefer that sound instead of the Michi.

Try and get a listen to them,before buying. Unless they are very cheap and yopu can minimise any loss if you don't like the sound in your set up.

Regards D Louth.