questions from and advice for newbies

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Bry, Mar 26, 2007.

1. Bry

Bry

Hi all, newbie Bry here.

So, I thought I'd start a thread where all of you seeming experts and salty veterans of the hifi world could share your advice for the newbies like me.

As I mentioned in the introductions thread, I'm a newbie to the hifi world. I would like to put together a good kit with a lot of potential to grow and expand with my financial possibilities , but I'm starting from scratch. It is clear from reading some of the interesting posts in this forum that hifi is not just a matter of looking at what each component can do on paper and just mixing and matching pieces. And that's assuming you know how to interpret all that data you see on the paper. All this is especially complicated if you don't have a friendly and patient salesman in a hifi store nearby who's willing to go through all the possible combinations of equipment time and time again until you find that sweet combination that might possibly on some level make this (for some) insane investment of time and money rewarding and worthwhile.

For example, I think I would be most pleased with a system that reproduced faithfully and neutrally the information that is found in the source recording. Tenson mentioned quickly that I should seriously consider active speakers for various reasons, including value, matching issues, and higher accuracy of playback. I confess, the idea of active speakers is totally foreign to me, I never would have considered that option. No particular reason, only that it doesn't fit into my prejudices when I think of stereo systems. Now, I'll have to think about it. What is the difference between active and passive? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each?