Something is wrong

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by harrygrey382, Jan 9, 2007.

1. harrygrey382

harrygrey382

Right, I've got my Ariston Q deck on a wall mounted shelf and dead level. It's connected to a pro-ject phonobox.
    It's got an Ortofon OMB 10 with supposedly low hours, I'm pretty sure it's original. I've inspected the stylus with a magnifying glass and can detect no defects.
    I've checked the cartridge alignment with a protractor from VE.
    It sounds pretty good... except for some males voices some of the time. I can hear distortion, clearly (128kbps mp3's from my computer are clearer), e.g. Bob Marley, Randy Newman, Johnny Cash.
    I know this is not meant to be, but it's got me stumped. I'm new to vinyl, this is my first go.
    So, what do I do, new stylus, new cartridge, look at VTA (although from what I've read VTA makes things brighter or duller, and I hear distortion. And anyway, why would it be wrong, the same things happens regardless of record thickness)?
    Thanks for any help
    Harry

harrygrey382, Jan 9, 2007
  2. harrygrey382

Bob McC living the life of Riley

tracking weight is?
    And how have you set it?

Bob McC, Jan 9, 2007
  3. harrygrey382

RobHolt Moderator

Is it general break up on loud sounds or distorted sibilance?
    General breakup indicates wrong tracking force or aged rubber parts in the cartridge. Distorted sibilance means the tip is worn out or the cartridge is very badly aligned in the arm.

RobHolt, Jan 10, 2007
  4. harrygrey382

harrygrey382

no there is no distortion on loud sounds and general sibilance. It's only audible on male voices.
    One record is new (johnny cash American Man III), MP3s are fine, so it's not the rest of the set up (it pisses me off mp3's are more listenable at the mo).
    I haven't set azimuth, but this doesn't seem to be adjustable. I'll reset the tracking weight, but I don't have scales, I'm using the increments on the arm. It says 1.3 at the mo.