Sound question

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Harley, Oct 11, 2024 at 11:56 PM.

1. Harley

Harley

Hi all
    I'm relatively new to hifi and have fallen head first down the hole.
    I have a very modest system for our small two bedroom unit- Rotel A11 tribute - Polk bookshelf R100 speakers- rel tzero sub and Project essential 3 TT with Ortofon 20 stylus.
    I only play vinyl, atm.
    This setup makes me happy, nice and defined and natural but lacks punch.
    So I decided to grab a power amp (this is the start of the system upgrade for when we are in a larger living area) and run the tribute as a preamp,for now. The one I choose was again a modest Rotel RB1552 Mk2.
    I'm running it unbalanced with rca's.
    It has added more punch and air into the sound but I am finding acoustic guitar fills to be very metallic sounding to the point of harsh. IE Tom petty- Running down a dream and The Cult -She sells sanctuary.

Question is, is the 1552 producing the harsh sound or are the Polk R100s not handling the highs well?
    Rotel RB1552 MK2 rated 130w per channel @8ohm
    Polk R100s rated 30w-150w at 8ohm? I know the R100s can dip as low as 3.6ohms.
    Listening volume is 75ish dB.

Anyone experienced something similar?
    Any help or info is appreciated.
    Cheers

Harley, Oct 11, 2024 at 11:56 PM
  2. Harley

Sergeauckland

I've left this for a few days in the hope that somebody else might answer with some experience of the actual items you have.
    As I hate to see a reasonable enquiry go unanswered, I'll do my best to help.

Firstly, the terms 'harsh', 'metallic', 'punch' and 'air' - all subjective terms which may mean different things to different people, so hard to know exactly what YOU mean by them. It's possible it's distortion, or a peaky frequency response.