Technics SL-1200 Mk2 cartridges

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by ben556473, Jan 6, 2007.

1. ben556473

ben556473

Hello all, I would be very gratefull if someone could give me some advice. A friend, who is a bit of a budding DJ, has recently replaced the styli on his Technics SL-1200 Mk2 turntables which have stanton 500 cartridges fitted. The problem appears to be that he unwittingly bought the 'copy' styli and now his set up sounds very poor indeed. I have little knowledge of turntables but cant help thinking he could get a better sound from a cartidge change, using something more hi-fi than the carts designed for DJ'ing. Could someone recommend a cartridge for my friend that would work on these tables and produce a nice sound, his budget is not great. Any suggestions would be gratefully accepted. Thanks Ben. PS he uses the phono stage in a Marantz PM 4000. amplifier.

ben556473, Jan 6, 2007
  2. ben556473

peez

Hi theer, I have quite a bit of experience with these as I use one myself that I have modified heavily. As a result it has the potential to sound truly amazing and the list of potential mods is virtually endless.

It really depends on your friends cart budget, but the Grados work well enough at super budget level (they start at £40 for the prestige black to £105 for the gold), or the Goldring 1000 range with the 1042 at the top. After that it's Sumiko or Dynavector and up.

Origin live is a great place to look too as they do an arm board to change the arm for a rega or one of their own arms. This really is where the good stuff begins. Change the mat for either the sound dead steel ISOPLATMAT , or Funk Firm Achromat too.

KABUSA in america supply external power supplies and strobe disablers (I fitted 15 amp mains cable to mine). ISONOE do lovely anti vibration feet (but expensive (ish) at £90 for four.