Vintage Sony STR VX2L help and info

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by TheFruitManOfDoom, Sep 8, 2024.

1. TheFruitManOfDoom

TheFruitManOfDoom

Hello
    I am a bit of a beginner with hifis and I recently bought a Sony STR VX2L amp/radio at a bootsale and was very keen to find some info on it/ receive some advice! Firstly, out of curiosity, does anyone know when this model was made approximately and what sort of level of quality was it? Was it average for the day or high end? (Or low end...)
    I only payed £5 for it but unfortunately it doesn't seem to power up when I plug it in. Would it need to be hooked up to the rest of the stack to work anyhow? I was wondering if this is a model worth investing money in to get repaired, or if it isn't really that good? My electrical repair abilities are limited to replacing the fuse and plug, beyond that I'll have to take it to a repair shop.
    Also, does anyone know what the model names are of the other parts to this stereo system? I'm guessing it wouldn't have had a CD player if it's very old.

Thanks in advance and hope you have a truly excellent breakfast today.

TheFruitManOfDoom, Sep 8, 2024
  2. TheFruitManOfDoom

Sergeauckland

It was made in 1981-2
    25 watts per channel into 8 ohms. Looks like one of their more budget range, but not that that's a bad thing.
    If you PM me your email address, I can send you the Service Manual and brochure.
    S

Sergeauckland, Sep 8, 2024
  3. TheFruitManOfDoom

TheFruitManOfDoom

That would be great, thanks very much!

4. TheFruitManOfDoom

Arkless Electronics

Will cost more to repair than it's worth.

Arkless Electronics, Sep 8, 2024
  5. TheFruitManOfDoom

TheFruitManOfDoom

As luck would have it, its decided to power on now

6. TheFruitManOfDoom

Sergeauckland