Visit to chez Martins

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by Mr_Sukebe, Aug 29, 2006.

1. Mr_Sukebe

Mr_Sukebe

This weekend I had the pleasure of popping in to meet MartinC in his Bath home and having a listen to his rather good system.

The background to this was a Tentlabs clock upgrade to my Meridian 500 transport, which Martin was kind enough to build and fit for me. As I'm far from an electronics expert, having someone who clearly knows what he's doing working on the job left me a LOT more confident.

Prior to the upgrade, we started with a quick side by side comparison of my Meridian 500 and Bel Canto DAC2 versus Martin's modded Naim CDI (well I think it's a CDI). These were fed via some DPA amps into his Impulse H2 speakers. After hearing how good RobH's H2s are when fed with a good signal, I was certainly looking forward to it. RobH's system is now probably one of the best home systems I've ever heard, amazing dynamics and coherence across the whole range.
    Starting with my own transport/DAC combo, actually sounded a little too laid back and a trifle soggy. The modded CDI is clearly a better synergistic combination with his DPA amps, as they sounded brilliant on most things we tried, the only possible exception being a crowded house CD, on which I felt that things were just a little strident in places. Overall, brilliant.

Following the work, we didn't have quite as much time as I would have liked, but found the upgraded transport/DAC combo to be pretty much rejuvenated. Less soggy, and whilst not tiring, definitely more lifelike.
    So my deepest thanks to Martin, who was not only very kind in helping on the upgrade, but also a wonderful host for giving us a brief tour of the central area of Bath.