Where to next???

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by lloydsj, Mar 19, 2004.

1. lloydsj

lloydsj

Hi,

Basically I want advice on how best to progress my system next. I'm new to hifi and don't really know what area is going to give me the biggest improvement... ideally for the least cost.

My setup at present is:-
    This is what I have been thinking:-
    • Maybe sell the Sony and purchase a Marantz CD5400 (or the CD5400 OSE ). Is the OSE worth the extra 40 quid?
      Maybe my interconnects are poor? and I should get some better ones like the Cambridge Audio Pacific (or similar)? but is it going to give me much of an improvement?
      Maybe I should look at replacing my speakers? (I have been looking at the B&W 602 S3's)
      OR maybe I should look at adding a sub? how much would it cost for a reasonable one?
    The reason for these thoughts is because I no-longer use minidisc so my Sony is only being used for the CD deck. The MD drive on it is totally redundant nowadays. ALSO I have got some Seinheisser PX200 headphones which I use with my Discman, and the detail on these is far superior to what I can hear through my hifi. There are things I just cant hear at all on my hifi that are obvious on the headphones. Some of the deep bass just doesn't even seem to be there on my hifi? also when people sing for example, it sounds that bit sweeter on my headphones. What is the likely cause for this? and how can I remedy it?

Any help is appreciated.
    Stu
    :confused:

lloydsj, Mar 19, 2004
  2. lloydsj

lloydsj

Is changing my source to a marantz cd5400 or Marantz CD6000ose or better going to give me much of an improvement over the sony?

is my sony mxd-d3 any good as a source?

lloydsj, Mar 21, 2004
  3. lloydsj

MO! MOnkey`ead!

Hi lloyd.

Without having heard it, the source would appear to be the obvious weak link.

Don't expect huge changes, though it's possible, but I'd try and get a home deMO and try them for yourself.