Whest PS.30R

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi and General Audio' started by alphatoner, Jun 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alphatoner

alphatoner

This is the new Whest top of the range phono stage. Selling at about £1,600 it's not exactlly cheap.

Have any of you guys in the business had a chance to check it out yet and see how it compares to it's rivals and/or its predecessor.

Any info appreciated.

alphatoner, Jun 2, 2008
  2. alphatoner

artist

Well i have been using one for a couple of months and i can say it kills anything upto 5k i have tried many stages recently.

It has had a couple of very good reviews in the german press

artist, Jun 2, 2008
  3. alphatoner

Purite Audio Purite Audio

Which ones have you tried? I haven't heard the 30 yet.

Purite Audio, Jun 2, 2008
  4. alphatoner

robM

Yes, I heard one at a fellow wigwam members house. Compared to the Origin live, Clearaudio (the expensive one), Noteworthy audio and the older PS.20, and at a later time Trichord Diablo with NCPSU the PS.30 is light years ahead. I'm really slowing saving up for one to replace my whestTWO. The German reviews are excellent.

robM, Jun 5, 2008
  5. alphatoner

sq225917 Exposer of Foo

no doubt he will have B graded available on epay before we know where we are..

sq225917, Jun 5, 2008
  6. alphatoner

Meeeoooow, I am going to try and stay in your good books SQ!
    I haven't really been convinced by solid state phono's yet, always interesting to hear something good though, James ( Whest ) is a very nice guy, I believe there is a 'reference' phono on the way too.

Purite Audio, Jun 5, 2008
  7. alphatoner

robM